My best images come with a story – Tuscan Memories

Tuscan Photographic Workshop Tour June 18 – June 23, 2016

Sangimino in the Mist

San Gimignano in the Mist

The best photographs are often accompanied by the memories that are attached to the image. Your own personal metadata is what makes your images and traveling so important.

This was a wonderful morning image that I captured in 2013 in Sangimino, Italy and is one of my favorite memories.

What makes it my favorite is the smile it brings to my face when I see it. We had arrived and could see the village in the soft morning light before sunrise. Everyone knew it was going to be a great shot. Once I parked the van, everyone dashed of a few steps ahead of Jan and I. Craig, Charlie, Steve, and Bob headed off into the tall wet grass to try to find a vantage point to shoot from and Jan gave me a look that still makes me laugh every time I see this image. There was a little farm road that went  up and off to the left of the wet grass,  it took Jan and I to this great (and dry) vantage point.  As we watched the light change we captured this wonderful sunrise. The men eventually came out of the wet brush and onto the farm road to capture Sangimino from what I think of as Jan’s vantage point.

A journey shared is a journey remembered.

Click here to get to my Links page for the 15% off discount code for any of the Topaz products

About europeanimages

Light is both the photographer's palette and brush. Harnessing available light is a skill learned through the study of technical theory and then applying it in the field. My goal as a photographer is to search out the images that interest me artistically, then once I have found the essence of that place I use composition and light to enhance the images. View all posts by europeanimages

Leave a comment