Venice Photographic Workshop – Burano Lights – Venetian Lagoon

Burano Lights – Venetian Lagoon

Night Image of Burano Island Italy

Night Image of Burano Island Italy

During the workshops I give in Venice, I usually visit Burano one of the islands in the Northern Venetian Lagoon. Burano is 45 minute Vaporetto Ride from Venice. the Vaporetto Ride itself is an experience, it’s great to see Venice from the sea.

Burano is known for its lace and its gorgeous colored buildings and home. Around 3000 residents live on the island, in houses that are painted in all the colors of a rainbow. I would highly recommend visiting Burano, you can wander the streets and take photos of this beautifully colorful fishing town, where women stayed home making lace, while the fishermen went out to the sea to fish. Each fisherman was able to recognize their house from afar Because every house was painted in a different color of the rainbow.

1-I opened several raw images and after checking for motion blur and I selected Raw image 4032 CR2 to work with.

CR2 Raw image

CR2 Raw image

 2-In the basic pallet I made adjustments with the exposure +0.60 Highlights -28 and Shadows +27 and set Daylight on the White Balance drop down menu.

Adj made in Basic Pallet

Adj made in Basic Pallet

3-Using the Clone and Healing tools I removed a few people, antennas and other distracting

Distractions cleaned with the Cloning and Healing brushes

Distractions cleaned with the Cloning and Healing brushes

4-With Nik software Color Efex Pro I used Tonal Contrast to bring down the highlights and pull out the shadows.

Nik software Color Efex Pro I used Tonal Contrast

Nik software Color Efex Pro I used Tonal Contrast

 5-Next in Color Efex Pro 3.0 I used the Film Effects. In the film drop down menu I selected Kodak Portra 160NC

Color Efex Pro 3.0 - Film Effects - Kodak Portra 160NC

Color Efex Pro 3.0 – Film Effects – Kodak Portra 160NC

 6- In the Film Effects pallet I selected the Film Details dropdown menu which shows the presets for Sensitivity and Saturation.

Film Effects pallet - Film Details dropdown menu

Film Effects pallet – Film Details dropdown menu

7-Using the adjustment sliders I tweaked the Color Sensitivity and Saturation.

Adjustment sliders tweaked in Color Sensitivity and Saturation

Adjustment sliders tweaked in Color Sensitivity and Saturation

 8- In the Film Effects pallet I selected the Film Details dropdown menu which shows the presets for Grain.

Film Effects pallet - Film Details dropdown menu Grain presets

Film Effects pallet – Film Details dropdown menu Grain presets

9-I set the sliders to 0 on all grain setting to removed the grain preset for the film type      selected. I  usually do not want grain effects on my images.

Film Effects pallet - Film Details dropdown menu Grain set sliders to 0

Film Effects pallet – Film Details dropdown menu Grain set sliders to 0

      

About europeanimages

Light is both the photographer's palette and brush. Harnessing available light is a skill learned through the study of technical theory and then applying it in the field. My goal as a photographer is to search out the images that interest me artistically, then once I have found the essence of that place I use composition and light to enhance the images. View all posts by europeanimages

2 responses to “Venice Photographic Workshop – Burano Lights – Venetian Lagoon

Leave a comment